Skip to main content

Day 5, 30 day writing challenge

 
First, I am bummed and rather saddened, by the not so sudden elimination from the playoffs of my beloved Anaheim Ducks.  What a crappy game. I know, I know, I am not on the ice playing, but these boys worked their booties off all year, just to fall victim to poor officiating and a well oiled Blackhawks team.  On the bright side, I save money by not going to the finals, but honestly, that is just a consolation that soothes my sad sports soul.  (pathetic right?).
 
Second, I miss my mom.  Of course I miss her everyday, but days like these stand out in my mind.  When we would lose big games like this, she would call me and uplift my spirit in her mommy way.  She was good at that.
 
I have nothing else in me right now, the word trees have closed up...and the finale I have been waiting for is about to start....

Congratulations to the Chicago Blackhawks and the Tampa Bay Lightning.  Have a good finals.
 
Until tomorrow....   


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

From a personal journey to...

I have blogged off and on about a personal journey I have been on for about a year or so.  It's nothing earth shattering for anyone but me.  I hate to say it, but I kind of became a cliché.  Indeed, I had become that person who needed to find themselves.  One of my favorite quotes along the way came from Tolkien, "Not all those who wander are lost".  It kind of contradicts my previous statement, well not kind of, it does, because I talk about finding myself, but truly, I knew where I was all the time.  Are you confused yet? Think of it as standing outside of your body inside a hall of mirrors.  Like a carnival there are images of you everywhere, but only one of those images are you.  So you go about seeking the solid figure and along the way you hit dead ends, walls, other mirrors with images of yourself and so on, until you finally stop, breathe and realize if you look at the mirror in front of you, there you are.  You stop trying so hard...

Not sure what the title should be.

Brace yourselves, this will probably be a rambling post, but hey, no one is perfect and it is apparently one of the things I do best.  I think this post will be about resolutions, but I didn't want to put that in the subject line, I thought I would keep you guessing.  So mean right? Or is that clever trickery?  Sometimes I am so wicked awesome (in my own mind).  So let's get to it.  Resolution number one.  No resolutions.  For me they end up being empty promises that only make me feel guilty at the end of the year.  So for the second year in a row, I am flying by the seat of my pants and coming up with idea's of things I want to, need to and have to get done. As those of you who read my blog know, I made this oath last year and went on one hell of a year long, transformative, journey.  As I write this today, I think I might have just finished with one of the biggest transformations in my life and I didn't even realize...

The single person's guide to Valentine's Day.

Are you single and fretting over Valentine's? Maybe you're becoming increasingly depressed, or blue, because you keep seeing those jewelry commercials on television, or those candy commercials?  Or your friend's or coworkers keep telling you their plans, or hopes of a potential special moment? Well, I am here to virtually hug you and to tell you, it will be okay.  First, don't begrudge your friend's or coworkers their happiness.  Smile sincerely and be happy for them.  Being happy for them, will make you feel better and will increase your outer (yet invisible) glow.  Hey, you might glow so brightly, you could end up with a Valentine's date if you go to Happy Hour on a Friday night.  Now, how do you get over yourself and move beyond the stigma, that is kind of self-imposed, of being single on Valentine's day?  Take your power back and put you first.  There are a million and ten places open on Valentine's day.  Severa...